A Word About Security 

Security -noun Freedom from care, anxiety, or doubt; well-founded confidence (as defined by dictionary.com)

Something on all of our minds these days, as more and more of our lives go into “the cloud.”
A dermatologist recently asked me about the security of SkinOfMine.com: How can we all feel confident that images we upload will always be there for us? And for us only?

SkinOfMine has taken several steps to block unauthorized access, starting from the connection up.

Our connection is secure; we offer 256-bit encryption so that cyber-eavesdroppers cannot snoop on users’ sessions.  Files and database entries are backed up daily in case of machine failure. Files are not shared with any outside entities.

What about authorized access?

There are two ways that an uploaded photo can be shown to someone other than the person who uploaded it. Both require the permission of the uploader. The first: when someone uploads an image, they are asked whether SkinOfMine has permission to show that image to other users. If “yes,” the image goes into a queue to be vetted by SkinOfMine staff as relevant and non-offensive. If vetted, the image goes into the database of possible “best matches” for other images, and could then be shown as a result of the “Find Similar” function on the dashboard.  Only the image and biopsy information, if available, would be shown. No information about the person who uploaded that image would be revealed.  If you do not want your images to show up as a “Find Similar” result, simply say “no” when asked if we have permission to show this image to others.  You can do this at upload time, or later by clicking on the pencil icon in the lower left corner of an image from the “MY FILES” page.

The second way that an image could be shown to a user other than the one who uploaded it is through the “Share” function of the dashboard.   In this case the image owner chooses the SkinOfMine user with whom that image is to be shared.  A copy of the image and the identity of the sharer are then shown to the sharee.  The sharee does not have the right to share a shared image.  The sharer can remove a sharee from the sharee list at any time, thereby revoking the sharee’s viewing rights.

We are working hard to protect the security of our users. Users need to do their part, too, by making sure their passwords are not easily guessed. (Anybody use 123456 as a password? That’s been reported as the most commonly used internet password!)

back to skinofmine.com

Advertisements