Variability in Wrinkle Index Due to Camera

I was challenged last week with an interesting question: to what extent does the specific camera used influence one’s wrinkle index? Does a user need to always use the same camera in order to get comparable results?

I checked my wrinkle index at skinofmine.com on 3 different photos – pictures taken within a 24 hour period using three different cameras:  a Nikon digital SLR camera, the camera that came with my Mac (via the Photo Booth application) and my iPhone (version 3.1.3)

My wrinkle index came out as 74, 70, and 77, respectively, in the three photos. Not bad variability!

For the record, I think the variability is at least as much due to a slightly different facial expression in each photo as it is to the camera.

Back to skinofmine.com

